Hunter Junior Grand Final Results

Under sunny blue skies, the Hunter Junior AFL premierships were decided at No1 Sportsground on Sunday 4th September. A great day of football was enhanced by the Tyrepower “Kick for Tyres” promotion that was held on the day.

Match Results:
Under 11: Maitland 4.7.31 def. Newcastle City Navy 3.6.24
Under 13: Muswellbrook/Singleton 9.6.60 def. Nelson Bay 6.5.41
Under 15: Muswellbrook 12.12.84 def. Newcastle City Navy 10.10.70
Under 17: Newcastle City 12.9.81 def. Lake Macquarie 9.8.62
Youth Girls: Cardiff 9.6.60 def. Singleton/Maitland 3.0.18

Congratulations to all players & officials on a great season!

Posted in Uncategorized

Hunter Junior AFL Presentation Evening

Over 520 people packed the Belmont 16ft Sailing Club on Tuesday evening for the Hunter Junior AFL presentation night. Congratulations to all of our award winners:

Best Auskick Centre: Warners Bay JAFC
Auskick Coordinator of the Year: Carolyn Philpott (Warners Bay JAFC)
Club of the Year: Nelson Bay JAFC
Coach of the Year: Dan Pederson (Warners Bay JAFC)
Volunteer of the Year: John Fitter (Wallsend District JAFC)
Umpires Golden Whistle: Lincoln McCauley
Youth Girls Best & Fairest: Arizona Cross (Cardiff)
Youth Girls B&F Runner Up: Sabrina Kilousis (Newcastle City) & Sophie Clancy (Singleton)
Under 13 Best & Fairest: Jesse Bates (Singleton)
Under 13 B&F Runner Up: Jake Sweetnam (Newcastle City)
Under 15 Best & Fairest: Lachlan Price (Cardiff)
Under 15 B&F Runner Up: Ky McGrath (Muswellbrook)
Under 17 Best & Fairest: Hugh Blanchfield (Newcastle City)
Under 17 B&F Runner Up: Brandt Job (Lake Macquarie) & Joseph O’Donoghue (Newcastle City)

Volunteer of the Year Nominations:
Greg Walker (Cardiff)
Tim Mott (Lake Macquarie)
Wayne Anderson (Nelson Bay)
John Fitter (Wallsend)
Mark Philpott (Warners Bay)
Lindsay Guy (Maitland)
Tracy Davis (Muswellbrook)
John Paine (Newcastle City)
Mel Nelson (Port Stephens)
Adrian Batterham (Singleton)

Youth Girls Best Team Player:
Emily Piper (Cardiff)
Tia Young (Lake Macquarie/Wallsend)
Molly Fraser (Nelson Bay)
Anastacia Sager (Newcastle City)
Ellie Oldham (Singleton/Maitland)
Lilliana Bryson (Warners Bay)

Under 9 Best Team Player:
Kale Barrett (Cardiff Gold)
Fletcher Kocon (Cardiff Maroon)
Lleyton Jenkinson (Lake Macquarie)
Cody Beavis (Maitland Orange)
Abrahm Russell (Maitland Yellow)
Charles Hill (Nelson Bay Blue)
Max Beach (Nelson Bay Gold)
Lucas Doherty (Newcastle City Navy)
Charles Boswell (Newcastle City Sky Blue)
Ace Antonovich (Newcastle City White)
Gabriel Bose (Port Stephens)
Blayne Chandler (Singleton)
Blake Jeffs (Wallsend)
Kalan Mason (Warners Bay Blue)
Jeremy Gocher (Warners Bay Red)

Under 11 Best Team Player:
Lachlan McNamara (Cardiff)
Jared Knorre (Lake Macquarie)
Jarrod Inglis (Maitland)
Angelica Diamond (Nelson Bay Blue)
Sid Buckley (Nelson Bay Gold)
Asher Darcy (Newcastle City Navy)
Ryan Robinson (Newcastle City White)
Maclaren Edgar (Port Stephens Black)
Aydan Watkins (Port Stephens Teal)
Liam Mouser (Singleton)
Alex Gallagher (Wallsend)
Isaac Cruickshank (Warners Bay Blue)
Sam Evans (Warners Bay Red)

Under 13 Best Team Player:
Joshua Papichio (Cardiff)
Kai Booth (Lake Macquarie)
Dan Wellbourne (Maitland)
Laine Dulhunty (Maitland/Wallsend)
Joshua Jones (Nelson Bay)
Jack Stolzenberg (Newcastle City Navy)
Jack Hartigan (Newcastle City Sky Blue)
Jay Martin (Newcastle City White)
Ethan Hays (Port Stephens)
Conor Thornberry (Singleton/Muswellbrook)
Sebastian Thomas (Warners Bay)

Under 15 Best Team Player:
Alex Hollitt (Cardiff)
Matthew Guy (Maitland)
Tristin Pitcher (Muswellbrook)
Nick Ceci (Nelson Bay)
Chris Falley (Newcastle City Navy)
Toby Bartsch (Newcastle City White)
Dylan Baxter (Warners Bay/Wallsend)

Under 17 Best Team Player:
Adam Grant (Cardiff/Nelson Bay)
Riley Jannisen (Lake Macquarie)
Tyler Lee (Maitland)
Oscar Cooper (Newcastle City)
Joshua Buchanan (Warners Bay/Wallsend)

Posted in Uncategorized

Nelson Bay Win AFL Hunter Coast Club of the Year

The Nelson Bay Marlins have taken out the inaugural AFL Hunter Coast Club of the Year, which was announced during Tuesday night’s Hunter Presentation Night.

This award acknowledges the work that clubs do off the field, and the environments and culture they create for their members. Items such as lack code of conduct breaches, attendance at meetings, female participation, Club Improvement Program and payment of accounts, all contribute to clubs receiving points, but it is within the player retention and net growth where the Marlins excelled. This is a demonstration of the excellent culture the club personifies, and the hard work their committee does to recruit new players.

Club President, Michael Blyth, and wife, Penny, were over the moon to accept this award on Tuesday night, and said that this is something their club had been working towards for years. The Marlins receive a set of 25 new guernseys, shorts and socks for their club, on behalf of the AFL Hunter Coast, which is valued at $1,750.

Niagara Park Ourimbah came a close second in the award, and topped the leaderboard for the Central Coast clubs. This is an exceptional effort by first year President, Ben Surwald, and his committee.

Posted in Uncategorized

Grand Final Football Record now Available

You can now download a copy of the Grand Final Football Record, available by clicking the link: 2016 Grand Final Record

Posted in Uncategorized

Grand Final Fixtures – Sunday 4th September 2016

No1 Sportsground, Parry St Newcastle
8.40am – Under 11 – Maitland Saints V Newcastle City Navy
10.00am – Youth Girls – Cardiff Hawks V Singleton/Maitland
11.30am – Under 13 – Nelson Bay V Singleton/Muswellbrook
1.00pm – Under 15 – Muswellbrook V Newcastle City Navy
2.50pm – Under 17 – Newcastle City V Lake Macquarie
Posted in Uncategorized

This Weekend’s Preliminary Final Fixtures

Dick Burwell Oval, Nelson Bay, Sunday 28th August
10am Under 11 PF1 – Warners Bay Blue V Newcastle City Navy
11.30 Under 11 PF2 – Maitland V Cardiff
1pm Under 13 PF1 – Singleton/Muswellbrook V Warners Bay
2.30 Under 13 PF2 – Nelson Bay V Newcastle City Navy

Max McMahon Oval, Rutherford, Sunday 28th August
10am Youth Girls PF – Singleton/Maitland V Nelson Bay
11.30am Under 15 PF – Newcastle City Navy V Newcastle City White
1.20 Under 17 PF – Lake Macquarie V Central Coast

Posted in Uncategorized

Tyrepower Latest Specials

SSS Spacials page

Image | Posted on by